light is king. and light is queen. i am the court jester.

I still struggle with lots of aspects of photography, especially with areas like flash photography, star/moon/night photography and portrait photography.  And then some aspects, like understanding white balance, I don’t struggle with at all.  Not because I’ve mastered it, but because I don’t really want to even waste the energy to struggle with it.  Right now I’m fixing stuff like that in post.   And then there’s post-processing.  Man o man that’s a steep learning curve for me.  I’m still barely understanding the basics of Lightroom.  This week, in order to free up space on my hard drive, I deleted like a mad woman only to find out that I lost all of my editing on all of my files.  The CR2’s and some resulting jpegs from editing are safely stored on an external drive, but I’ve lost everything else.   But, now I do have more memory. (Though it had nothing to do with deleting all of my previews)

One thing I am starting to understand is light.  Light is king.  Light is queen.  If you can find yourself good light, both inside and outside, you’re off to a great start.   One of my south windows is is 10 feet long, and mostly shaded by a big old oak tree, and if you haven’t noticed, many of my still life shots have been taken from that place.  I just bought a stand to hold my reflector/filter discs, which now gives me even more light options from which to choose.   These stands will also hold flash attachments, so that will be fun to explore in the future.   I used the white side of the reflector disc on this shot.  It helped with giving light to the left side of the photo.

AB0A9368-2Canon 5DMarkIII; EF100mm F2.8L IS USM; iso 50; f/4.5, 1/5 second.  (tripod mounted)

My pride wants to inject a comment here:  This is a compressed file, which again shows awful moire.   (the wavy groovy lines on the wall in the background) If you want to see the “big” files of my work, you can check out my flickr page.

17 thoughts on “light is king. and light is queen. i am the court jester.

  1. Just as I’ve written something about lighting, I’ve found your post too. Thanks to Aadhira for sending me the link.

    I’ve just started something called #30LearmingDays on my Facebook page. This month its about mobile photography. If you have a facebook account, it would be great to have your contributions there.

  2. I don’t think the learning ever really ends, so don’t get discouraged because from what I’ve seen you have a very good grasp of what makes a good photograph.
    But I do know what you mean because sometimes I do feel like a jester and that light is just laughing at me 🙂

  3. It’s a lovely picture. I don’t even own a flash [except the one in the camera]. I shoot in the .RAW format all the time, and post process in Camera Raw, in Photoshop.

  4. I loved this post! I struggle with flash, night, moon .. White what? Lol and that too. You know what though .. Your images are wonderful! Always .. I love Lightroom .. And light is queen! It is all about light 😃 sorry to hear that you have lost files

Leave a Reply

