the barn

Yesterday, I posted the account of how my macro addiction (I call it “crack-ro”) distracted me from photographing an old barn.  Here is the barn shot:AB0A7825.jpgThis barn is about a mile or two from the abandoned house I posted a photo of on May 9.  The road is winding and hilly.  One that feels comforting and lonely at the same time.

I used my 100-400 zoom@220mm on this shot because I didn’t want to trespass, and plus there were some distracting tree shadows in the foreground.   iso 50;  f/5.6; 1/250

Is anyone else having trouble with moire when they reduce the size of their photos?  I ended up posting the giant file on this post because the moire in the sky was so bad on the limited file size version.  My shot from May 9 has awful moire in the sky as well.

14 thoughts on “the barn

  1. Excellent balance in the B&W photo. I never heard of moire before. I looked it up and now have a name for something I have seen in the past. Thanks for the education.

      1. Keep passing on the info. I’ve been taking pictures since the early 1970’s after reading the entire Time-Life series on photography. That was a boon.

  2. I’ve only heard of moire in the context of a dated fabric used for curtains and/or prom dresses – haha! But I can picture those wavy lines developing in a photo when reduced although what I tend to see are more like pixels. Then again, I am a really novice photographer and am probably trying to fix too much when I see those, and they’re not what you’re talking about. Now, after all that meaningless and unhelpful rambling, let me tell you that I love the barn photo! I have a whole photo file called “Farms” because I love the look of waving grains, lines of crops, old barns, etc.

    1. I’m glad we share a love of farms! If you click on my link in today’s post to my May 9 post and look at the sky above the old house, you will see those annoying wavy lines. (and i thought your ramble was funny btw!)

      1. Oh, yeah, I see it – and that has happened to me, too. Of course, I have no idea how to fix it! My grandfather’s family came from NE, and my dad grew up on a farm in PA, so I must have some farm nostalgia buried deep in me!

      2. wow you have Husker blood running through you! 🙂 I notice it when I reduce the size of the files. The larger jpegs don’t have the moire. that farmhouse pic is around 700kb but the original i posted on flickr is more like 12 mgs and it doesn’t have the moire

  3. Nice choice to go b&w for this beautiful old barn.

    Unfortunately, file compression algorithms can result in “banding” or posterization in areas of images where there should be smooth gradations, such as the sky. It’s a pain!

  4. I. LOVE. THIS. PICTURE. You’re a spectacular photographer, Lisa Q! I continue to be in awe of your talent. Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

