a sandhill horizon

I’ve been absent from WordPressWorld for several days.  For part of the time I’ve been out in central Nebraska with the Sandhill cranes.   What a sight to see!  Half a million of them stop in Nebraska on their way from Mexico to Canada for the summer.

AB0A7466-2

Canon 5DMarkIII; EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM +1.4x III @560mm; iso 400; f/8; 1/2000 second

I hope you’ve all had a great week, and I’m sorry I haven’t been very faithful to keep up with all the haps in your corner of the blogosphere.  After next week, I hope to be more present!

18 thoughts on “a sandhill horizon

  1. I’d hang that on my wall! 🙂 I love sandhills, the noise they make, the funny dinosaur way they walk- everything! I bet seeing them all was amazing!

  2. You’ve captured a perfect moment that could be used to express so many things: look at me! – joy – homecoming – safe landing! Have you tried cropping it down to a narrower landscape? Not that it isn’t brilliant as it is…

  3. That’s a great silhouette. I absolutely love it! About 20 years ago we drove through Nebraska on one of our road trips west. We were puzzled by all those big birds gathered in huge flocks in the fields we passed, but later discovered that they were sandhill cranes. We don’t see those birds in Ohio.

    1. Lisa, I’m arriving in Omaha on Easter and will be there until Thursday afternoon. Any chance of meeting up with you for a cup of coffee? Would love to meet you in person! No pressure, just thought it would be fun to meet another blogger who seems to have so much in common with me!

  4. I think this photo is phenomenal – you definitely earned your time away from the blog!

    I caught an American Masters episode on photographer Dorothea Lange last night. Some of your black and white shots came to mind. (You might be able to watch it online at pbs.org Really interesting ideas behind what she was shooting.)

Leave a Reply

