artist vs sloth

I wasn’t going to get out of bed.  I hadn’t slept more than a couple of hours the night before, and so when the alarm went off at 6,  I went straight past snoozing to turning it off.  At 7:30, my friend Jill texted me and told me to get out and take pictures of the gorgeous frost.  The mental boxing match between the artist and the sleep deprived sloth began.

“There will be other frosty mornings.” said the sloth.

“Just get up and throw a coat on and go.  You don’t even need to leave the neighborhood.”  said the artist.

“Stop taking this photography thing so seriously. It’s not like you’re getting paid for it.”  said the sloth.

“You’re going to regret this in 2 hours when the frost is gone.”  said the increasingly panicked artist.

The sloth sensed that the artist was starting to win so she began using shaming logic:”Your neighbors already think you’re odd, so if you go tromping around their yards, you’re not going to help anything.  So, that means you’re going to have to drive all the way out to the lakes to avoid being seen with your greasy hair and your puffy mattress creased face. By that time it will be too late. Just get some sleep.”

“Ok, you don’t need to put pressure on yourself to go, just at least get up and look out the window.”  the artist coaxed.

And that did it.  One look at my neighbor’s pine tree and I was throwing on the smartwools and a baseball cap and I was out the door.

2016 score:  Artist-1; Sloth-0

AB0A3128-2AB0A2941-2

 

54 thoughts on “artist vs sloth

      1. I’ll be buried in my headscarf, probably pulled over my face too. Not as a religious symbol but as a mark of laziness to wash my hair and put on some make-up.

  1. I found myself holding my breath while studying these photos…absolutely beautiful, as is
    your honesty about the “struggle” that goes on in the mind and heart. We are blessed the artist won the day.

  2. Oh, how lovely! The artist should get a 10 on this one, not a 1! … Always a good idea to follow that niggling creative impulse, no matter how odd the neighbors may think you are 🙂

      1. i don’t know if you’ve ever tried this, but I’ve rented lenses before just to try them out. When we were first married and I had no money, I would rent zoom lenses here and there. I think you can even rent online these days. It might be a nice option for you

      2. I’ve heard about it, and that’s an option. I bought my first DSLR in 2009. Been thinking about a macro lens for ages now, but haven’t gotten around to it. Now, would actually be a good time, because recently my enthusiasm has started to fade a little …

      3. that’s too bad, and sometimes it’s hard to justify such an investment if you’re not sure about it. I’ve wanted a macro lens for at least 10 years, but now I see how the timing was right for me to not get until last year. I wouldn’t have used it enough when I was younger. I didn’t have the time. Do you know anyone from whom you could borrow one to try it out?

      4. No, I don’n know any people here. Even if I don’t take as many photos now, as I did when I was new to it, I doubt I could ever give up DSLR photo … I think this would make a great addition [I made a typo and wrote addiction LOL]. The ones I have right now are: 50mm prime, 18-200mm and 70-300mm.

  3. Thank goodness the artist won, these are great shots.
    I recently got a pair of heated glove liners that keep your hands warm and still allow for full control of all camera settings without having to take them off. Now even with one less excuse for avoiding going out on cold mornings, the artist doesn’t always win with me 😀

  4. I’m not an early riser either but the artist and photographer in me would definitely have won out! These are gorgeous images. Thought of you this morning when I got up…our three feet of snow is melting quickly but the warmer temperatures colliding with the cold snow is kicking up some wonderful snow fog and today was the perfect morning for coffee…chilly, gray and foggy!

  5. So glad your Artist got out the door and chose to take these photos.
    The sloth won at my house recently and I missed some beautiful snow capped Sedona Red Rock pictures.

    I love your photographs.

Leave a Reply

