spinning button

It was fun to experiment with motion blur yesterday.  I taped this button on a thread to the top of the door frame.  Then with my right hand, I twisted it and held it in place so I could use my left hand to get my focus point on the button hole area.  My camera was mounted on a tripod, so once I let go of the button, I just held the shutter button down  and let it continuously snap as the button spun.  I wanted to make sure there was one area that was sharp, so it would be easy to identify that it was a button.  Most of my shots didn’t turn out, because I was not being very careful when letting the button go and it was swinging too much as it spun. But I did manage to keep a couple from swinging:

AB0A0185-2

AB0A0235

Canon 5DMarkIII; EF100mm f2.8L macro IS USM; iso 200; f5.6; 1/10 sec

15 thoughts on “spinning button

Leave a Reply

