grandma’s buttons

The Daily Post theme this week is Circle

AB0A9980

AB0A0012AB0A9846AB0A9966

Both of my grandmothers saved buttons.   My grandma Eva saved hers in in an old ButterNut coffee can.  My grandma Margaret saved hers in a round tin that looked like it once held cookies or chocolates.  When I went to their houses as a child, I would play with them.  I still remember how it felt and sounded to run my hands through the buttons-smooth and cool with the buttons clicking as I swirled my hand around in the tins.  I loved to sort them into piles according to color.

When my grandma Margaret passed away, I got her buttons.  I’ve added to the collection over the years, for no particular reason.  My girls use them once in a while when they do crafts, but most of the time I just buy them because I feel nostalgic and they’re pretty.

52 thoughts on “grandma’s buttons

  1. I love buttons 🙂 I played with them when I was a child and my children used to play with it as well.. we played we are cooking them in different bowls and then shared.. 🙂

  2. So many of my favorite things in this post: buttons, heirlooms/ history, mason jars, and crafts! 🙂 I love the picture where the buttons have spilled out of the mason jar.

  3. I love how you photographed the jar of buttons- and on such beautiful quilts. I save buttons too- a habit from my mother- I love to look at them and sometimes use them to replace buttons on a sweater that I don’t like!

  4. My grandma had a button tin that I loved so much that I started one myself! I think I’ve only ever taken one or two buttons out of it to sew onto something, but I love sifting them through my hands and seeing them in their pearly glory! Great photos and a lovely reminder of my grandmother and her buttons.

  5. I played with the button tin when I was a kid, too. I think it originally held some kind of Scandinavian butter cookies. They were all squished in there in accordion edged papers and after it was emptied of cookies, it became the button tin! Some of those buttons are REALLY old! It is kind of a treasure now. 🙂

  6. love that Picture! my mom and granny saved buttons and I used to play with them when I was a child. when I moved to my own house they passed them on to me 🙂

      1. I can completely relate to that. our personal treasure boxes are mostly filled with personal items less than expensive ones, the sentimental value is always higher 🙂

  7. Lovely story to go along with your beautiful photos! I remember doing this same thing as a child. This is by far the favorite post of the day!

  8. I’ve enjoyed buttons forever too, starting with my Gramma’s! But my son was never interested in them and neither are his two sons. So what to do? Take them to Goodwill? No! I had to find a way to pass these “heirlooms” on so I made a huge picture, from his Great Grandmother’s buttons (and some of my old Hippie beads) of a Porsche Logo. THAT got his attention. Thanks for sharing this. Terrific photos!

  9. I have a collection from the days when I thought I planned to use them to add drama to a plain t-shirt or some other article of clothing. I never did but could not bring myself to throw them out. I am glad I kept them because your photos have given me the idea of displaying them in a glass container. 🙂 Thanks.

  10. My grandmother on my mother’s side had a can of them. I used to love dumping them out to play with them when I visited her each Sunday. I have them now. The last time I dumped them out to play with them was about two weeks ago. 🙂 They are a lovely keepsake, aren’t they?

  11. Beautiful captures, Linda! I have a bunch nice buttons from the extra buttons that attached to the cloth I bought. I don’t know what to do with them. 🙂

  12. We have so much in common! I also remember how much I loved to run my hands through my mom’s buttons and now that she’s gone I have them. This was a wonderful take on the circle challenge! I wish I still lived in Nebraska so I could meet up with you at some point!

      1. Yes, my husband just retired this past summer after 35 years in the Air Force. We loved Omaha and it was hard to leave but we already owned a home in VA so we came back to it to figure out what to do with the rest of our lives! It’s gorgeous here but there are way to many people!

      2. Well I hope the process of figuring out the plan for your new season of life goes smoothly and yields wonderful results. Yes, though Nebraska may not be as picturesque, there are certainly fewer people!

Leave a Reply

