iphriday–merry christmas!

iPhriday is a day to post your favorite photos from your phone.  We’d love to have you join us by linking to one of my posts, or tagging your post “iPhriday.”

Thanks to the merry band who posted over this past week.  Make sure you check out their links at the bottom of this post!

At 4 am, I put the ham in the oven.  At 6am, in went the potatoes.  We set off for our 2 1/2 hour drive at 8, brunch at 11, back in the car at 4, and home at 6:30.  It was a great day with family, but that’s why I’m late with the iPhriday post.

IMG_0879-2

In 1741 George Fridrich Handel received a manuscript by Charles Jennens.  It was a collection of various biblical texts about Christ.  He was moved by the opening words of Isaiah 40 “Comfort ye, comfort ye my people” and wrote the music to The Messiah in 23 days.   He described his experience of writing such an astonishing work by saying:  “Whether I was in the body or out of the body when I wrote it, I know not.”

Some of my first exposure to the texts about Christ was through the music of Handel’s Messiah.  During my “tween” years, my grandmother played the piano for a Messiah sing-along in her town, and she would invite us to come and sing.  It remains some of my favorite music to this day.

Here are more iPhriday posts for you to enjoy.  I will be posting on January 1, 2016 so I hope to see what you are capturing on your phone to start the new year!

iPhriday–Merry Christmas

iPhriday–What A View!

Foggy iPhriday

iPhriday Christmas Post: The Ugly Christmas Sweater

6 thoughts on “iphriday–merry christmas!

  1. “For unto us a child is born. Unto us a Son is given.” Thank you,God! Thank you, Georg Fredrick Handel for the most beautiful story set to the most beautiful music. Merry Christmas, dear Lisa! Love you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

