fall

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/22660369430/in/dateposted-public/lightbox/

Canon 5DMarkIII; EF24-105mm f/4L IS USM@73mm; iso 50; f/22; 1

I think I left my CP filter in the rental car in Duluth last month, so I was thankful there were moments during this day hike when it was overcast.  I wanted to leave my shutter speed open longer to get that smooth water look, and it can be easy to overexpose an image when trying to do that.  I’ve had this model of camera for almost a year, and I just figured out how to get the iso down to 50.  So, that helped, along with pushing the aperture to f/22.  I’ve recently read that images can start to get soft when the aperture numbers go that high, but in order to manage the light, I had to push it that far.  The camera is mounted on a tripod, set up in Stone Creek.  I got to test the guarantee that my hiking boots are waterproof.  (They are. :-))

Autumn Leaves

EF100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM; iso 800; f/6.3; 1/320

This shot is handheld, and it was a little windy,  so I pushed the iso to 800.

18 thoughts on “fall

Leave a Reply

