split rock lighthouse

Split Rock Lighthouse

Canon 5DMarkIII; EF100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM@182mm; iso100; f/22; 1/5; +1/3 Exposure Bias

29 ships were lost in a single storm on Lake Superior in 1905.  In response to such tragedy, the Split Rock Lighthouse was built.  It sits on a 130 foot cliff, just south of Silver Bay, Minnesota. At the time, there were no roads to the site, so the materials were brought by boat and lifted up the cliff by crane.  The lighthouse was completed in 1910, in service until 1969, and is now a state park.

This is our fourth time visiting the lighthouse, and I still love it.  Mr. GrayDays and I honeymooned on the North Shore 24 years ago.  It is pretty special to visit now with our teenaged daughters.  Lord willing, we will be bringing grand babies up here someday.

9 thoughts on “split rock lighthouse

  1. I love that lighthouse! I visited it when I went to the north shore with Lennice & Roger several years ago. I’m glad you got to show it to your girls this year – it’s a special place. 🙂

      1. I just thought it was funny when I saw my feed and there was a post saying “Thank you Amy” 🙂 I hope you don’t mind but I removed it. (but I am thankful for our interactions in blogland)

Leave a Reply

