potions class

Week 3 of Imagecraft Bootcamp, hosted by Mitch and Lucile, is addressing the process of shadow recovery.  Ideally, I should have used a sunset/sunrise photo. They seem to be the shots, for me anyway, that are the most difficult to achieve even balance of exposure.  If I get the chance to get out before the next challenge, I will post another photo.  For now, I’m using a shot I took at the Warner Brothers Studio Tour: The Making of Harry Potter in London. (If you are a Harry Potter fan, put this on your bucket list.   We are proud Harry Potter nerds and my girls and I were doing all we could not to completely freak out as we walked through this studio. Mr. GrayDays isn’t so much of a fan, so he carried our camera bags and mostly just laughed at how ridiculously giddy we were being.)

Here’s the original image of the set of potions class:

IMG_8722-2

Here’s what the original image’s histogram looked like:

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 2.39.50 PM

Following Mitch’s advice (see link above) I hit the auto button in the tone panel, brought the exposure down (but not to zero) and worked from there.  Reducing the ratio of the photo to 1:8 was something I had never tried before.  It makes using the radial filters so much easier!  There are two radial filters on the second image.  The first was for the ceiling, to bring up the exposure and shadows.  The second I used for the bottom of the image, to do the opposite.  Because I used a bit of flash, the bottom of the image seemed a bit over-exposed, so I brought down the exposure a bit, and also the highlights.  Here’s the second image:

IMG_8722

And here’s the histogram for the second image:

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 2.43.23 PM

It’s still weighing heavily on the dark end of the scale, but it’s better anyway.

Again, a sunrise/sunset shot would have probably been better, but I still learned some great tips about shadow recovery!

5 thoughts on “potions class

Leave a Reply

