imagecraft bootcamp–low key image

I joined Mitch Zeissler and lucile de godoy at Imagecraft Bootcamp, and this is our second week this week.  The assignment this week is Low-Key Images.  Last week was High-Key Images.  I’ve already learned a lot, and am looking forward to the lessons ahead.  Follow the links above if you’d like to join us in these challenges!

Here is my low-key image this week.  The original image follows.  I purposely underexposed the original image, and that seemed to help with the process.

Low Key:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/21470487110/in/dateposted-public/lightbox/

Original Image:

CROSS14

Canon 5dMarkIII; EF100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM; iso 100; f5.6; shutter .8 Exposure Compensation: -1&1/3

The original is completely unedited.  Here’s how I processed the image in Lightroom to become low-key:

Convert to black&white in the basic panel; Contrast: +78; Shadows -25; Whites +19; Blacks -2 Clarity +50.  In addition, I used the adjustment brush to highlight the cross, and added more clarity, contrast, and sharpening to it.

Tone curve: Highlights -12; Darks -12; Shadows +17.  Ok, these past two challenges have been my first of using the Tone Curve feature.  Can someone tell me what the difference is between adjusting in the Tone Curve vs the Highlights/Shadows/Whites/Blacks in the Basic panel?

I’m not really sure if I accomplished the goal of producing a low-key image, but I’m happy with how it turned out, so that’s something I guess!

9 thoughts on “imagecraft bootcamp–low key image

Leave a Reply

