day 1: love looks like a butter mold

My blog-friend Tildy over at https://thebeespeak.wordpress.com asked me to join her in a five day photo challenge.  This challenge is to post a photo, and then include a story or poem with the photo.   Thank you, Tildy for including me!  I’m already having fun thinking about the next five days! This shot is the first of five I will take on the same theme of “What Love Looks Like.” It’s a butter mold I bought on an antiquing trip when Bart and I were first married.  At the time, I loved going antiquing.  I loved talking about antiques.  I loved watching Antiques Roadshow. I even dreamt about opening my own antique store one day.  When we had a spare weekend, my first thought was for Bart and me to go crawling through dusty old junk shops, searching for treasures.  And so we’d go.  And sometimes we’d go… and go… and go.

But love looks like a butter mold not because I love antiques.  Love looks like a butter mold because Bart does not love antiques. Bart does not love crawling through dusty anything.  Bart does not love shopping.  Bart does not love spending money on butter molds.  Bart does not love putting miles on his car to drive an hour and a half to some backwards town in the next state, so he can add a butter mold to his collection. Bart does not love collecting things.

But Bart loves his wife.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/16761526096/in/photostream/lightbox/

16 thoughts on “day 1: love looks like a butter mold

  1. Made me think about the people in my life who have blessed me in the pursuit of my own “butter molds”. Thanks, friend.

Leave a Reply

