Sunset. Sunrise. (the fiddler is dyslexic today)

Thank you for the comments about my sunrise picture yesterday.  (Sidenote: I’m happy to report that I’ve calmed down a bit since then.)  Terry over at Perspectives On… reminded me in her comment that fortunately we have two tries a day to photograph, so I went out again last night and tried the sunset.   Then, I went out this morning again.  Norm, from http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com suggested putting a wider angle lens on, and metering on the sky instead of the foreground.  I think those two tips helped.  I feel better about these shots than the dawn shot yesterday, but I really really really need to learn a better editing program than iPhoto.  There’s only so much I can do with it.  I’m excited to re-edit these once I start tackling the ins and outs of Lightroom.  I shot them in RAW so it will be fun to see how they transform.

I’m off to take Sarah Jane and one of her also-December-born besties shopping so they can spend their birthday money.  Hope day two of the new year is bringing about growth and deeper joy to all of you.  🙂

(I think clicking on the photo gives you a better view of the shot, btw)

January 1, 2015 Sunset: 

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/16169525022/in/photostream/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/16169503472/in/photostream/

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/15982972028/in/photostream/

winter barn

January 2, 2015 Sunrise:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/graydaysandcoffee/16174624772/in/photostream/

9 thoughts on “Sunset. Sunrise. (the fiddler is dyslexic today)

  1. Happy New Year and wow I love them all but especially the one through the broken fence it is fabulous really love it.

    Good luck with Lightroom I had a trial but didn’t get time to get to grips well enough with it hit I know it works really well 🙂 xxx

  2. Oh yes – you got it! Well done 🙂
    Love the lens flare on that first one and the fence one is really good too. They are all great compositions but the 4th one is my fav. The way the light hits the side of the barn: it just rocks and I like that you mixed it up and shot it in portrait rather than landscape.
    Would love to know the camera setting on some of these.
    Overall much better.

      1. I took a quick look. I don’t want to fill your comments with technical talk and scare away your followers but think I see what’s happening with the low light shots. Email me if you want to discuss further. I’ll see if I can find you some links to some helpful tutorials.
        BTW that 5D MK III you have is an amazing camera!

Leave a Reply

