She already gave me my Christmas gift.

The college girl went out shooting with me when she was home last.  Though she doesn’t get overly excited about nature photography, she decided to go with to get some ideas for an upcoming engagement gig she got.   She prefers taking photos of people.  Half of the time, she was taking pictures of me taking pictures.  I didn’t care what she was doing.  She was with me, and that was enough.

People told me it was going to be hard to let her go.  Now, four months later, I wouldn’t use the word “hard. ”  Well maybe I would, if I could put “gut-wrenchingly”  in front of it.

Times like this day are a gift.  I am praying to spend my emotional energy thanking the Lord for these moments, rather than feeling sad about the time we don’t have together. I’ve started a gratitude journal and it really does make a difference.  As someone who struggles with depression anyway, it has been a helpful tool for trying to keep my mind out of the depths.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ESV)

3C3A1060

8 thoughts on “She already gave me my Christmas gift.

  1. Very tough. A gratitude journal helps. I did one last winter–SADD here.
    Enjoy the time you have together!
    It’s actually fun once your kids become adults and your friends. It’s the in-between that’s hard.

  2. A gratitude journal really does help, and the more details you write as to why you are grateful, the better it works. I also think photography (especially nature photography) where you actively search for beauty in ordinary things is another way to focus on the positive. Focusing on the positive things in life is the way to go.

  3. You are such a gift to dad and me, Lisa, just as Jenna is a gift to you and all of us. God is so very good and we are so thankful to Him for our family. Thank you for sharing your beautiful gift of photography with us too!

  4. This makes me miss my mother. She lives on the East Coast, and, unfortunately, tickets were too expensive for me to go home for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. But I got to spend to glorious weeks with her and the rest of my family in October! I can’t wait until the next time I see them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

